WirelessCom 2005 - King`s College London


WirelessCom 2005 - King`s College London
WirelessCom 2005
Call for Papers
Symposium on Cooperative Networks
Sheraton Maui Resort, Kaanapali Beach,
Maui, Hawaii, USA,
June 13-16, 2005
Cooperative Networks are gaining increasing interest from the wireless community as a means to
allow mobile devices to communicate in networks composed of heterogeneous technologies. A
special Working Group on Cooperative Networks (CoNets) has been established within the
WWRF (Wireless World Research Forum) to undertake these issues.
Seamless Communication. Heterogeneity in CoNets refers to service support, user devices,
network access, resource and mobility management, medium access control, baseband
algorithms, radio technology, and so on. In this scenario, the main challenging goal is to allow a
mobile user to seamlessly communicate throughout multiple heterogeneous networks (cellular,
wireless and wired networks, including “moving” and “ad-hoc” networks), and to enjoy
multiparty multimedia applications while on the move between different administrative domains.
Self-Organization & Cross-Layer Design. Certainly there are particular cooperation and
coordination problems found in CoNets that significantly differ from those in more traditional
domains. The future cooperative network is, in fact, expected to self-organize dynamically in an
optimum manner in order to offer seamless services with agreed quality to users and devices
irrespective of location and network connection. This implies careful optimization across the
entire protocol stack. Ideally, cooperative connectivity shall be transparent to the various
transport technologies used among nodes in the network.
New APIs. Relations between cooperative networks are expected to be established dynamically,
always providing a securely protected environment to users. Mobile terminals should be able to
discover candidates available networks, therefore new APIs should enable applications to detect
available access networks and learn their characteristics, thus becoming aware of location,
context, and QoS.
Cooperative Networking. Special kinds of wireless networks included in CoNets are the socalled “moving networks” (NEMO), consisting of one or more mobile routers with connected
devices changing their point of attachment to other networks while physically moving or
changing topology. New resource management schemes for cooperative heterogeneous wireless
access networks are required.
Cooperative Access Control & PHY Technologies. Furthermore, recently, the idea of using a
mobile station as a relay between a source and a destination node is making CoNets a new
diversity enabler. Cooperating users transmit their own information towards the destination node
as well as optimally processed relaying information from other users. In this way, CoNets also
offer a viable fading countermeasure and a shadowing alleviation means. The increased traffic
requires entirely novel mechanisms at the MAC, as well as new approaches to distributed coding
and transceiver design.
Topics of Interest
Original papers are invited in the area of interoperability between different wireless networks and
fixed-wireless co-operation. Papers must represent high-quality and previously unpublished work.
Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following areas of Cooperative Networks:
Architectural Principles
Multiple Service Support
Network Control and Maintenance
Mobility Management
QoS Provisioning
Naming & Addressing
Moving Networks
Ad-hoc Networking and Internetworking
Multihop Routing
Multi-Access Capability
Radio Access Technologies
Resource Management
Cooperative & Distributed Relaying
Ambient Network Technologies
Cognitive Networks
User devices
Cooperative Processing
Cooperative Sensor Environments
Self-Organizing Networks
Submission Guidelines
All papers are limited to 6 pages and must be in standard IEEE double-column format. Papers
must be submitted at https://msrcmt.research.microsoft.com/WirelessCom2005.
Important Dates
Paper Submission Deadline:
Notification of Acceptance:
Camera-Ready Papers:
March 31, 2005
April 15, 2005
May 1, 2005
Antonella Molinaro
University "Mediterranea" of
Reggio Calabria - Italy
[email protected]
Mischa Dohler
CTR, King’s College London UK
[email protected]
Andrej Stefanov
Polytechnic University, New
York - USA
stef[email protected]
Technical Program Committee
Hamid Aghvami, UK
Paul Anghel, USA
Sergio Barbarossa, Italy
Daniel Beimborn, Germany
Aggelos Bletsas, USA
Helmut Bolcskei, Switzerland
Antonio Capone, Italy
Carla Chiasserini, Italy
Tolga Duman, USA
Gianluigi Ferrari, Italy
Ramon Ferrus, Spain
Gerhard Fettweis, Germany
Javier R. Fonollosa, Spain
Vasilis Friderikos, UK
Hesham El Gamal, USA
Michael Gastpar, USA
Antoni Gelonch, Spain
Monisha Ghosh, USA
Georgios Giannakis, USA
Roger Hammons Jr, USA
Patrick Herhold, Germany
Jadwiga Indulska, Australia
Antonis Kalis, Greece
Mos Kaveh, USA
Hong-Yon Lach, France
Nicholas Laneman, USA
Geert Leus, Netherlands
Yonghui Li, Australia
Youjian Liu, USA
Fabio Massacci, Italy
Gianluca Mazzini, Italy
Rohit Nabar, UK
Ian Oppermann, Finland
Boris Rankov, Switzerland
Ashutosh Sabharwal, USA
Cem Saraydar, USA
Ali H. Sayed, USA
Anna Scaglione, USA
Andreas Schieder, Germany
Hans-Peter Schwefel, Denmark
Sergio Servetto, USA
Yantai Shu, China
Rahim Tafazoli, UK
Vahid Tarokh, USA
Sirin Tekinay, USA
Ozan Tonguz, USA
Sami Uskela, Finland
Matthew Valenti, USA
Mahesh Varanasi, USA
Josep Vidal, Spain
Branimir Vojcic, USA
Tim Weitzel, Germany
Hyunsoo Yoon, Korea